In this section


Darvell M. Hutchinson AM – Chairman

Darvell M Hutchinson AM 2Darvell is a founding trustee of The John Villiers Trust. His initial career was a professional Chartered Accountant and Company Director. He is a former National Chairman and International Representative of PKF, Chartered Accountants, and held numerous public company directorships over the years including Bank of Melbourne Ltd. Darvell retired early as a partner of PKF in 1987 to give more time to the development of the philanthropic trust sector, and to his former community involvements which included National Gallery of Victoria (Trustee and Treasurer), Vice-President of Lord Mayor’s Charitable Fund and President of Australian Association of Philanthropy (now Philanthropy Australia) amongst others. His current community involvements are as a director of The Order of Australia Association Foundation and the Macpherson Smith Rural Foundation Ltd. He is a member of the Patrons’ Council of Royal District Nursing Service and a Patron of Asthma Foundation of Victoria.

In 2014, he retired after 50 years as a trustee and former Chairman (for 46 years) of the Helen Macpherson Smith Trust, a major Victorian philanthropic trust. He remains trustee of various other charitable foundations including the L.E.W. Carty Charitable Fund.

In 1994, Darvell was honoured as Member of The Order of Australia for service to the community, and Monash University conferred upon him the degree of Doctor of Laws honoris causa for his contribution to the Victorian community and “to Melbourne’s role as the major centre of philanthropy in Australia”. He has also been honoured as a Life Member of Philanthropy Australia and the National Gallery of Victoria.


 Chris Barnard – Trustee

Chris Barnard has been an Executive Director of JBWere, Brisbane, since 2006, and an Investment Adviser with JBWere since 1997. His prior appointments include Internal Auditor, Public Trustee of Queensland, and IT Auditor, Queensland Audit Office.

Chris has held a number of not-for-profit positions in the community including Director and Chairman of Blue Care, the aged care service group of the Uniting Church in Queensland, and is currently a Director since 2009 of Wesley Research Institute, at the Wesley Hospital.






Dr Ian Galloway – Trustee

Dr Ian Galloway has had a distinguished career in the museum industry. He retired in 2013 after 13 years as CEO of Queensland Museum Network which manages four museums across the State. Prior to that, Ian was Deputy CEO of Museum Victoria for six years.

His former career as an entomologist was with the Department of Primary Industries for close to 20 years, and later he served for 5 years as Director of Land Protection in the Department of Lands. Both these roles took across the length and breadth of Queensland.

Ian holds a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Entomology and a Master’s degree in Management from the University of Queensland. He is an adjunct Professor at the University of Queensland where he lectures in the Museum Studies program. He has held a number of community and national appointments, and is currently Chairman of the National Trust of Australia (Queensland).




Stephen Muggleton – Trustee

Stephen Muggleton

Steve Muggleton is the CEO of RSL Care Queensland.

He has more than 25 years’ experience managing teaching hospitals and some of Australia’s largest residential aged and community care organisations including Blue Care and Royal District Nursing Service. He has been a member of a number of industry, state, national and international expert panels and committees on health and ageing.

Steve holds a Degree in Applied Science and a Master’s Degree in Health Administration from the University of NSW. His contributions to health and aged care have been recognised with an Adjunct Professor title from the University of Queensland, two Ageing Asia Investment Forum Awards and an Institute of Management Award.